PF-ISAC Condensed Matter Subcommittee
March 1-2, 2011
Rinko-shitsu 2F, 4-go-kan

Final Report (2011/10/20)


Tuesday, March 1, 2011
09:00-09:05 Welcome: O. Shimomura (5 min)
09:05-09:30 Charge to the subcommittee: S. Wakatsuki (25 min)
09:30-09:40 PF beamline refurbishment program: K. Ito (10 min)

Introduction to Condensed Matter Group: Y. Murakami (40 min)
“The overview of scientific areas and the instruments of condensed matter group and condensed matter research center”

10:20-10:35 Coffee break (15 min)

Condensed matter beamlines & Instruments@

 10:35-11:00 BL-3A, 4C (20+5 min) (Y. Yamasaki)
 11:00-11:25 B-8A, 8B (20+5 min) (A. Nakao)
 11:25-11:50 NE-1, NE-5, NE-7 (20+5 min) (T. Kikegawa)
 11:50-12:05 Resonant Soft X-ray Scattering/MCD (10+5 min) (J. Okamoto)

12:05-13:20 Lunch

In-house Condensed Matter Research (25+5 min × 2)

 Hironori Nakao (IMSS, KEK)
“Charge and Orbital ordering in strongly correlated electron system@studied by resonant x-ray scattering technique”
 Reiji Kumai (AIST & KEK)
“Structural assignment of polarization origin in organic ferroelectrics”


Site visit (PF & PF-AR) and discussion individually with PF staff (90 min)

15:50-16:10 Coffee break (20 min)

Science Highlights (25+5 min ׁ@3)

 Hajime Sagayama (Tohoku University)
“Studies of spin-lattice coupling in multiferrois”
 Tadashi Kondo (Osaka University)
“Possible water reservoir in the lower mantle”
 Takeshi Matsumura (Hiroshima University)
“Magnetic-field induced multipole orderings in CeB6 studied by resonant x-ray diffraction”


Discussion (30 min) <Closed Session>

19:00 Dinner
Wednesday, March 2, 2011
09:00-10:00 Discussion (60 min) <Closed Session>
10:00-11:30 Time for writing a preliminary report (90 min) <Closed Session>
11:30-12:00 Summary presentation (30 min)

Publication lists
3A   4B1   4B2   4C   8A   8B  10A  18C   NE1A   NE5C   NE7A

Prof. Junichiro Mizuki (Chair /Japan Atomic Energy Agency)
Prof. Masaki Takata (JASRI)
Prof. Katsuya Shimizu (Osaka University)
Dr. John Hill (BNL)*
Prof. Robert Feidenhans'l (University of Copenhagen)
Dr. Yanbin Wang (University of Chicago)

*absent from Subcommittee on March 1-2, 2011

Last updated on 21-Oct-2011